For over a century SPL has been part of the Saskatoon community. Over the years the world around us has changed, and the needs of our community are continually changing. Saskatoon is growing and becoming more culturally diverse. Technology is transforming how we interact, view the world and access information. Around the world, the role public libraries play in their communities is evolving from book repositories to vibrant people places.

Saskatoon Public Library Board Governance

Saskatoon Public Library is governed by a volunteer library board and the Public Libraries Act, 1996.

The Saskatoon Public Library Board follows the Board Bylaws in their conduct.

Strategic Plan

In 2016, we released Saskatoon Public Library’s strategic plan with a vision to change lives through community connections, engagement, and inclusivity. The new direction for SPL builds on the rich legacy of community service the public library has provided over the years and strives to meet the needs of our community moving forward.

Contact the Board

We will appreciate hearing from you as we write the next chapter in the history of our Library and its service to Saskatoon.

All correspondence to the SPL Board becomes part of the public record. Correspondence (including the name of the sender) received is publicly available on the SPL website in the board minutes.

Please expect to receive a response from the Board within 14 days from when the message was received.


Saskatoon Public Library
311 – 23rd St East
Saskatoon, SK   S7K 0J6

In Person:

City residents interested in submitting a topic to discuss at the next board meeting can fill out a Request to Make a Deputation.

By Email: 

Click here to send an email to the Saskatoon Library Board of Trustees. 

Join the Board

Membership appointments to the board are made by City Council. Saskatoon residents interested in applying to sit on the board can find more information by visiting the City of Saskatoon website.

Saskatoon Public Library Board Members

Brett Bradshaw, Chair


John Thronberg, Vice Chair


Hilary Gough


Markel Chernenkoff

Cheryl Starr

Liz Kuley

Jim Siemens

Elise Truscott

Carol Cooley

Mayor Charlie Clark 
Ex Officio